Things are moving forward – had my first building manager ring me up today to confirm details of how the posters would be attached to his building.  On this score I’ve been experimenting with how this is going to work.  I’ve been in conversation with Kev in the Geography Drawing Office about the print outs.  Although using the expensive glossy paper makes for nicer prints, sadly they smear really easily when wet.  The (much) cheaper matt paper absorbs the ink from our map plotter rather better.  So I attached a couple of smaller scale prints to my shed at home using wallpaper paste.  One I then covered in a clear sealant, the other I left as it came out of the printer.  Then I sprayed a hosepipe all over them.  You can see the results here.  Basically both seemed to survive quite happily.  And they’re still surviving as the week has gone on, despite the rain we’ve had.  So it looks like it should all be okay.  And I kinda like the way they look when they’re a bit weathered, it really sells the ‘flyposted’ aesthetic.

Giving a bit of thought today to running a session at the Association of American Geographers’ annual conference on geographers engaging in artistic practice.  Will post a call up on the various geography email lists and see if anyone else seems interested or whether this is just more random musing from me.  I want to see if other people are struggling to reconcile academic activity and more artistic outputs from their work.  Maybe they can help me make sense of what it is that I’m doing as I flounder around organising exhibitions when I should be writing papers.

